The purpose of the Leadership in Research Award is to recognize outstanding leadership, contribution, or promotion of nursing and health care research.

The Award will be bestowed on an intermittent basis at the discretion of the Board of Directors, based on the following criteria:

  1. The awardee must have been a member of the nursing profession for at least 5 years.
  2. The awardee must actively participate in nursing practice, education, research, service, economics, or administration.
  3. The awardee must have made a significant contribution to research in nursing and health care.
  4. Must be a member of SNRS

Nominations Procedure: Any member of the Society may recommend awardees to the Governing Board through email address to the National Office in the form of a nominations packet. The Governing Board will review recommendations annually by the posted deadline and vote regarding the appropriateness of each award nominee. After reviewing all nominees, the Board will determine if the Award is to be made in that particular cycle and if so, select the recipient. The awardee will receive a plaque and will be invited to attend the annual conference of the Society where they will be recognized. The Board may request the awardee to deliver a keynote or other presentation at the conference or publish their keynote/presentation in the newsletter, Official Journal, or newsletter.

The nominations packet must be submitted electronically per instructions on the SNRS website by the posted deadline (typically October 1st each year). Incomplete packets will not be accepted. Only the materials specified for the packet will apply to the award review All information submitted in the nomination packet becomes the property of SNRS and will not be returned.

The Nomination Packet must include the following as one PDF document uploaded via the link below by the posted deadline:

a. Letter of nomination which outlines how the nominee meets the award criteria.

b. Two letters of support

c. Signed consent statement by nominee to attend the Annual Conference to receive the award .

d. The nominee’s full Curriculum Vitae

e. completed nomination form

Please click here to upload your nomination packet.

Associated documents:

Past Recipients of the Leadership in Research Award:

Tara O’Brian, PhD, RN, CNE

Cynthia Corbette, PhD, RN, FAAN

Cheryl Krause-Parello

Jeannette Andrews, PhD, RN, FAAN


Patricia Crane, PhD, WHNP, FAHA, FNAP

Marti Rice, PhD, RN, FAAN

Anne Turner-Henson, PhD, RN, FAAN

Margaret Miles, PhD, RN

Martha Hill, PhD, RN

2010 D. Patricia Gray, PhD, RN

Jean McSweeney, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN

Martha Alligood, PhD, RN