Leadership in Research Award

The purpose of the Leadership in Research Award is to recognize outstanding leadership, contribution, or promotion of nursing and health care research.

The Award will be bestowed on an intermittent basis at the discretion of the Board of Directors, based on the following criteria:

  1. The awardee must have been a member of the nursing profession for at least 5 years.
  2. The awardee must actively participate in nursing practice, education, research, service, economics, or administration.
  3. The awardee must have made a significant contribution to research in nursing and health care.

Nominations Procedure: Any member of the Society may recommend awardees to the Governing Board through addresses on www.snrs.org, the Official Newsletter, or to the National Office. The Governing Board will review recommendations annually in October and vote regarding the appropriateness of each award nominee. After reviewing all nominees, the Board will determine if the Award is to be made in that particular cycle and if so, select the recipient.  The awardee will receive a plaque and will be invited to attend the annual conference of the Society where they will be recognized. The Board may request the awardee to deliver a keynote or other presentation at the conference or publish their keynote/presentation in the newsletter, Official Journal or website.

Past Recipients of the Leadership in Research Award:

2018 Jeannette Andrews, PhD, RN, FAAN

2017 Cindy Munro, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, FAAN, FAANP, FAAS

2016 Patricia Crane, PhD, WHNP, FAHA, FNAP

2015 Patricia Crane, PhD, WHNP, FAHA, FNAP

2014 Marti Rice, PhD, RN, FAAN

2013 Anne Turner-Henson, PhD, RN, FAAN

2012 Margaret Miles, PhD, RN

2011 Martha Hill, PhD, RN

2010 D. Patricia Gray, PhD, RN

2007 Jean McSweeney, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN

2006 Martha Alligood, PhD, RN