Southern Nursing Research Society was founded in 1986 when sixty nurses met in Atlanta and debated the possibility of an organization for nursing researchers in the southern region. In 1987, SNRS was declared an independent organization. In 1992 and 1993, several organizational procedures were streamlined and formalized, Society archives were established and strategic planning was initiated.

There are 14 states in the Society region: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and West Virginia.

SNRS Past Presidents  

Donna Scott-Tilley



Demetrius Porche



Nan Smith



Cindy Munro



Patricia Crane


Marti Rice, 2010-2012  
Elaine Amella, 2008-2010  
D. Patricia Gray, 2006-2008  
Donna Hathaway, 2004-2006  
Jean McSweeney, 2002-2004  
Debra Wallace, 2000-2002  
Craig Stotts, 1998-2000  
Beth Collins, 1996-1998  
Mary Walker, 1994-1996  
Janet Allen, 1992-1994  
Marjorie White, 1990-1992  
D. Jean Wood, 1988-1990